Recommendations in Florida Keys

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JPMRaptor

New
Reaction score
I've got a free ticket that I'm looking to burn and I was thinking of a dive trip down to the Florida keys. I'd probably be flying into Fort Lauderdale and driving from there.

Any recommendations on where to go? I've never dove Florida so I'm looking for some pointers on where to go/avoid. I've done almost all Carribean diving. I'm also a new underwater photographer ( http://jmeagher.net/scuba/Bonaire2004/ ).

Thanks,
John

if you don't wish to drive down very far into the keys and get molested by conchs (the people not the snails), try doing a trip out to John Pennekamp Park. Diving-wise it's probably the most popular park in the U.S.. Wrecks and coral galore.

If you feel a bit adventurous and wanna risk the Lower Keys, head on down to Big Pine Key (just the other side of 7-mile bridge) and join a boat charter out to Looe Key, a might pretty bank barrier reef 4.5 miles offshore.

And if you REALLY want some fun, shoot down to Key West and hop aboard a fast ferry to the Dry Tortugas, where the largest masonry structure in the western hemisphere resides (Fort Jefferson)... oh and the most pristine diving in the Keys (yes, technically you're still in the Keys).

archman:
If you feel a bit adventurous and wanna risk the Lower Keys, head on down to Big Pine Key (just the other side of 7-mile bridge) and join a boat charter out to Looe Key, a might pretty bank barrier reef 4.5 miles offshore.