Quick St. Lucia Trip Report

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

drrich2

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi:

Recently did a Royal Caribbean Adventure of the Seas southern Caribbean cruise. We docked in St. Lucia on Wednesday, January 15'th, 2014. Like a number of people on the forum, I like to book private scuba excursions. This trip I did so in St. Lucia and St. Croix.

Online reviews looked good for Scuba Steve's Diving, so I studied their web page for cruise ship visitors. They've got 2 trip options; Standard Service ($95) Standard - dives are in the Marine Reserve in the Anse Cochon area, and Premium Service ($150) - dives are by the world famous and breathtaking Pitons in Soufriere, which is home to Anse Chastanet Reef and Superman’s Flight, two of St. Lucia’s “must do” dives, and it says offers a more personal service to divers preferring small groups (max 8 divers), perhaps valuing a little extra assistance, and wanting to avoid busy “cattle boats”.

I contacted Scuba Steve's for more info. They don't have tanks larger than 80 cf. I asked:

I want to know what all is extra special about the premium package.
Takes an extra hour, so travel time = boat fuel, of course. Are the
dives near the Pitons better?

I did some checking on ScubaBoard.com; you guys appear highly
regarded and TripAdvisor gives you strong marks.

Anything else that'd be good to know?

Part of his response:

The difference between standard service and premium service is