Pinnacle seam issues?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CamG

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Greetings fellow divers anyone having issues with fraying seams on Pinnacle wet suits?
I am asking this because I have noticed after about 140-150 dives the some of the seams fraying.
One suit no problem but two of my dive buddies had issues at about 75-100 dives.
Now I am concerned because I have been recommending their wet suits for about three years. Now I am contemplating my endorsement.
I love the suit but realize that they are top of the line and not cheap!
Anyone have issues like this?
CamG Keep diving....keep training....keep learning!

I have a Pinnacle suit and have used it for about 7-10 days. I have MAJOR issues with the seams. The threads are EXTREMELY susceptible to fraying of the actual threads. I have had the threads break in a number of places and have had to use wetsuit glue to stop the running of the threads. The suit seems to be put together well, but the threads used in the external seams is of very poor quality. I bought the suit last year, 5-4 Marino wool, one piece suit.

I have had many suits over 30 years and have experienced similar seam issues on only one other suit which was not nearly so expensive. I have heard good things about the suits, so I am pretty disappointed.

No issues with my 4/5mm Marino yet. I've had it about 5 years or so, plenty of dives. I'm hoping it won't be a future problem, as my fiancee and I just bought a pair of 3mm Pinnacles for warm water!