Pinnacle Or Oneill? please help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mjsess13

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Just got into diving. I dive in the puget sound where the water is in the 40's and sometimes 50's. I am wondering what suit i should purchase. looking for wet not dry. I have looked at the Oneal Jstyle, and the Pinnacle Kodiak. What are your thoughts? thanks
ps. i get cold very easily too

I have lots of experience with pinnacle wetsuits and drysuits. All I can say is that they make really good stuff. I would recommend a semi-dry if you go the wetsuit route. I dive the puget sound regualarly as well and pinnacles semi-dry suits do an awesome job of keeping out the cold.

diver tim. do you think the Kodiak semidry would do the job in the puget sound? i get cold easy and its only a 8 mil. compared to the oneal which is 14 in the core areas.

I have and dive a pinnacle extreme which I think is very similar to the newer Kodiak suit and I absolutely love it. Believe it or not, the 8mm + the wool lining is plenty warm for diving in the Puget Sound area for me.
What I've noticed about diving a semi-dry suit and a dry suit back-to-back is that they are both remarkably warm. Obviously, the dry suit is more comfortable at deeper depths and your thermal status when you get out of the water but I love the simplicity of the semi-dry suit (or semi-wet) and the value is unbeatable.