PADI underwater photography specialty

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

soonerwink

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I am brand new to underwater photography, and would like to taka a photography class. I just recently purchased an Oly SP-350 and an Oly housing, and know nothing about shooting in manual or RAW mode. The threads I have researched here on SB says this is very important. And the main reason I chose the SP-350, second reason being price 179.00 at JR.com. Was wondering if anyone has taken the PADI underwater photo specialty, or any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

I did take the PADI UW Photography Specialty (not the new Digital one) and I think it was worth the time and effort. HOWEVER, as with so many classes, it was the instructor that made the class worth it.

Find out what/how the instructor is going to teach -- does he have props for example (mine had a "reef" that he put in the pool so that I could take images of "fish" and then we would critique the angle, exposure, etc. -- also I could take multiple images of the same "fish" and compare the differences between shutter speeds, aperture, ISO (and in your case, RAW vs. Jpeg).

Good luck -- oh, and take LOTS of images with your camera so you get to really know it before you take it into the water.

Hi, Peter is spot on.

Tell your instructor what you are interested in and be clear that you are just beginning. The class will shorten the learning curve considerably.