OK, I'm new to diving and am interested (m)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Crimsontide

Reaction score
in underwater photography.I have a quesiton about cameras. Can you use any camera for this as long as you have a housing for it? Are the disposables woth the money. I plan to get a quality camera in the future when funding is available, but for now what's best when considering these types of cameras.

CrimsonTide

I'm new to underwater photography too. I just bought a used camera from E-bay for $165. It is a Sea&Sea Motormarine, older model, it came with a strobe and close up lens and all kinds of nice little goodies. (now I just have to figure out how to work it!). This is what I have learned so far:

Look on E-bay!
Check out the Sea Life Reefmaster CL, it runs about $100 new and is good to 100ft. It is a camera with housing, but has options to add strobes, etc. later if you want. It is also fully automatic. A friend of mine has one and it took pretty good pics. at 60-70ft. I've seen a few on E-bay go for around $50-60.