Oceanic vs. ScubaPro vs. Atomic vs. ??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

orenshiv

New
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a student at NYU and also an occasional diver. I'm working on a project to study different SCUBA brands and was wondering if anyone has impressions of these three, overall - or maybe other leading brands? These three seem to be the market leaders in offering a wide variety, but maybe I'm missing some?

Any thoughts on which ones are more innovative/progressive? Better-designed? More expensive, overall? Best quality? General brand perceptions??

Thanks a lot for your help - seems to be a tough subject to find a lot written about!

Jeff :)

If you want more expensive, it's pretty hard to beat Atomic. I think that their titanium version are probably the most expensive regulator available. As far as best quality goes, who knows. ScubaPro and Atomic charge princely sums for their products and I hope that the respective qualities are high. I have been using Atomic for a year and a half now and ain't dead yet. ScubaPro is definitely the leader in brand name recognition. It's known world wide while Atomic is probably the least - it's more popular in the USA though supposedly they're starting to get recognition in Europe.

I bought an Atomic B2 awhile back; it's what one of our local dive shops services, and a highly reputable name brand. Here's a thread discussing that model.