Non-sealed Atomic IP issues?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Johnsonsa93

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Hey Scuba board community,

I work as a technician at a shop that uses all Atomic Z3 (non-sealed) as our rental regulators. I have been finding all of them having drifting IP issues. Usually I can fix the issue by cleaning out the piston housing / bore which always has dirt and sand in them. I think this has to do with one specific kind of dive we do that has to do with sitting in a sandy spot for up to 45 minutes. I have a feeling the sand is working into the piston housing through the open holes and little microscopic bits are working past the piston O-ring as it moves up and down and working its way through the piston bore and onto the HP seat.

Usually I will find dirt on the HP seat as well. However I have a hard time getting the IP to stop drifting just by cleaning everything off. Usually I need to clean everything and mess with the seat a few times before I can get it to hold stable.

So my questions are, does anyone else who works with a lot of atomic non-sealed regulators see this issue? Any advice on getting the HP seat and piston to hold a better seal? Is the only real logical answer for longevity to seal them?

As a side note I convinced the owner to use the old Z3's, from the last time we rotated rental stock, as the shore regs and to seal them. I do not see the drifting issue with these.