newbie questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tikyo

Reaction score
Hi PPD,

Newbie here wanting to try the sport out. I need to ask for your guidance

• Should I try the intro course first then the Open water? Just to try it out if I will love it.
  • Is it safe to be a family “thing that we do together” activity?
  • I went to Scuba world Makati and found out that the instructor is a Dutch national. Is he good?
  • Questions to ask the instructor to find out if he is good enough.
  • Any suggestions where to enroll? Eg dive buddies , scuba world, scuba1
  • I have no active diver friends, is this the right place to start making one?
  • Estimate total cost?
Thanks a lot!

hi tikyo welcome to the board. i'll assume you're pinoy because of your handle. anyways, to answer your queries...

* Should I try the intro course first then the Open water? Just to try it out if I will love it.
* Is it safe to be a family “thing that we do together” activity?
* I went to Scuba world Makati and found out that the instructor is a Dutch national. Is he good?
* Questions to ask the instructor to find out if he is good enough.
* Any suggestions where to enroll? Eg dive buddies , scuba world, scuba1
* I have no active diver friends, is this the right place to start making one?
* Estimate total cost?

intro? if you're not that sure yet, why not it gets credited if you do OW certification anyways.