New to Videography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bobby Berenson

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I am new to underwater video, I own a Sony HDR-HC7 camcorder. I need to upgrade my computer to do some editing. I am running XP. Any suggestions on what type of video card and editing software. I don't need to get top of line. My computer is about 6 - 8 years old. I will get a lap top in the future.

Thanks

Practically speaking there is no 6-8 year old computer that can be upgraded to capture HDV video from your HC7. It's not the video card as much as it is the requirements that HD editing has for processor speed, memory and hard drive speed.

Here's the minimum requirements to be able to capture HDV footage using Adobe's Premiere Elements, an entry level HD editing package:

Intel® Pentium® 4 or Celeron® 1.7GHz (or compatible) processor;
(Pentium 4 3GHz processor required for HD or Blu-ray)
Microsoft® Windows® XP with Service Pack 2 or Windows Vista®
For Windows XP: 512MB of RAM (1GB required for HD or Blu-ray)
For Windows Vista: 1GB of RAM (2GB required for HD or Blu-ray)
4.5GB of available hard-disk space
Color monitor with 16-bit color video card
1,024x768 monitor resolution at 96dpi or less
Microsoft DirectX 9 or 10 compatible sound and display driver
DVD-ROM drive (compatible DVD burner required to burn DVDs; compatible Blu-ray burner required to burn Blu-ray Discs)