New to Diving!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GoodUnderPressure

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi everyone,

I'm Matt, I'm new to diving, my girlfriend and I got PADI certified about a year and a half ago, and finally took a trip to Cancun recently to dive for 3 days. We got in the MUSA and a shallow reef the first day, a shipwreck (90 feet) and a deeper reef (60 feet) the second day, and Dos Ojos The Pit and Barbie Line the third day, and capped it off with a night dive that night on a shallow reef. We're hooked!

I joined the forum to learn about underwater photography and videography and equipment. I brought my GoPro Hero 5 Session and it overheated and died on me about half way through my second dive and wouldn't work for the rest of the trip. Luckily, our divemaster had a Hero 4 and sidekick duo to lend me. I got some phenomenal (to us, but not really) footage of The Pit and the night dive, but I think it could be better. Plus I want a more reliable camera, though I'm not opposed to getting a new GoPro.

Anyway, great to meet you all, and if you have any suggestions, reach out.

Thanks in advance!

Matt