New to diving and want a nice camera

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ChiefZero

Reaction score
HI all,

I was looking around for a nice underwater camera that won't get in my way has I am still learning to dive efficiently but I want to take al the least decent pictures with it. I am quite capable with any land camera up to DSLRS but With a limited buget plan on starting with a nice piont and shoot underwater. I have been looking around for cameras and can't decide which one I should get. I was told by a dive shop that for the price and skill level a good starter is the reefmaster mini. I have also looked at DC500 DC600 DC800 DC1000. the DC1000 with a price tag of $500 is quite pricey but I hear alot of good of it.

The bottom line is:
~I want a underwater camera
~Needs o be easy to use, not to interfere to much with my diving
~A price tag perferably under $500 but better around $300 to $400
~Good quality and picture taking time

So what you think out of the sea life ones, I will go with the reefmaster mini if people think that it is the best for me?

thanks
the poor college student ChiefZero

Reefmaster mini is a starter model to get a diver to buy two cameras, I think - it, and the one they really want next. You can get a good DC500 on Ebay for around $200. I suggest learning to dive comfortably first, camera later - but if you just got to get one now...

Hi ChiefZero -

Starving student... having been one once and the recent acquirer of a DC1000, I would take Don's advice.