New @ Scuba - Suggestions on equipment

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Gatoreng

New
Reaction score
Hi people,
I am new to scuba although I've been living in Fort Lauderdale for the past 14 years.
I realized that here there are people from all levels and that your input will help.

The uquipment I am considering is:

Oceanic Probe QLR or Aeris Atmos XT BCD
Aqua Lung Titan LX (I wanted a 1st & 2nd stage balanced)
Dacor Viper Octo
Aeris Atmos 1 Console Computer

Also I am planning to get my Advanced Open Water asap, and I am planning to dive in warm waters (for now). No plans for Nitrox in the near future.

Your input is appreciated.

I would probably suggest that you read throught the posts on BC's, Regulators etc, and you will soon get the drift of what most people find to be "good" equipment. Don't be in a hurry to buy, and by right stuff the first time...........

You might want to check out the following thread. If nothing else I'm sure you'll get a good laugh.
http://www.scubaboard.com/t64983.html

Got to go along with ShakaZulu - rent, read (scubaboard search button is very good for this) and ask lots of questions.

With BCD's some will say jacket style others will vote for Backplate and Wing. Talk to your instructor here. There are pros and cons to each.