Question New-ish to UW photography, picking strobes, Backscatter HF-1?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Chrisk919

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Background:
So I started playing with UW photography shortly before my last big trip in the form of an iPhone housing, but during that trip I was disappointed with the results even with a supplementary video light. (Oceanic+ iPhone housing, Kraken Hydra 2500v2, iPhone 14 Pro Max)
I just found the iPhone housing had too little "control" to be good for anything beyond snapshots of your trip, but underwater.

So I'm making the jump to a used Nauticam 650D housing (I have experience on land with Canon bodies) and I'm in the process of collecting some ports/diopters/zoom gears for lenses as I can find them/as needed. Primary types of underwater photography I find myself drawn towards would probably be macro work, and wide-angle close-focus .

This leaves the choice of lighting/strobes so I've been trying to weigh my options.
Based on what I've read here I think I've pulled a few points out that drive me to look at the Backscatter HF-1, but would be interested to get input.

It seems like the HF-1 ticks the right strobe boxes [no need for TTL anyway, big honkin GN for use with a diffuser], and as a bonus I get a video light for those times when I want to shoot a little video, or as a focus light/backup light on a night dive.

Questions:
So here are the questions: