New diver in the East End, Long Island, NY

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GrandWazoo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello everyone,

I've been using this site for research, as I am a newbie, I live in Southampton, NY. I am interested in diving more but finding out that boat dives are mainly a weekend outing, I am a chef and work weekends so wondering if there are any boats that go out on Mondays and Tuesdays and/or any experienced local divers who dive weekdays. I have no problem driving anywhere on the Island, just want to get in the water to gain more experience.

I currently have my AOW and Nitrox certifications and 32 dives, I also own my own equipment except a tank and weights, which I will purchase soon.

Thanks in advance and I also appreciate the information provide on this forum from the more experienced divers.

Welcome to ScubaBoard. I haven't dove in New York and I'm not familiar with the offerings. Have you contacted any of the area dive boat operators or dive clubs/dive shops to ask?

Richard.

For shops on the east end you can talk to Hampton Dive Center or Goodlife Divers (in Lindenhurst, so not technically east end, but primarily a local diving shop). The boats you'll want to reach out to are the Sea Turtle, Halftime or Sidekick (now operated by Goodlife Divers).

There are also local dive clubs that put together their own charter schedule. Feel free to shoot me a PM if you want more info about anything I mentioned above.