Need help with setup for Gallipolis trip

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mth1993

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am a fairly new diver, last summer I got advanced certified. I am planning on going on a 7 day trip with my daughter’s high school to Gallipolis next summer. I am a fairly avid photographer and am really trying to figure out what to type of camera as setup to use.
I have an Olympus 8010 with a PT-048 housing that I am planning on having my daughter use. I will be traveling with a Nikon d7000, D80, a couple of lenses primarily Tokina 11-16 f2.8
So I am considering:

1. Get another Olympus 8010 with a PT048 housing with some type of external flash, possibly adding in a wide angle lens attachment. $400 + flash ($est 250) + $250 wide angle lens = total $900
· Pro – cost, simplicity, one system to learn, redundancy
· Con – quality with a once in a life trip
2. Get a used housing for the d7000 or maybe d80 with port and dome for 11-16 and external flash. Est $700 + $400 port and dome + $400 flash = total $1500.
3. Get a new housing for the d7000 or maybe d80 with port and dome for 11-16 and external flash. Est $1600 + $600 port and dome + $400 flash = total $2600. Then sell it for est $1300 for total cost of $1300
4. Rent housing and flash
5. Buy higher grade point and shoot with housing with external flash. If I am going this route cyber Monday would be a good time to pick up the camera.
Do my cost estimates seem in line and what option would people recommend?