Need advice on next level camera purchase?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Heymo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have a Canon Powershot SD600 with an underwater housing I have been using for the past 8 months as my beginning underwater camera. It takes some good shots, but we are diving more and deeper and I am at the limitations of this camera. I am somewhat overwhelmed at the choices out there for a new camera setup. I don 't want to carry a big rig, and am not sure I am ready for a DSLR. What would be a good next logical upgrade to the system I have? I was going to just add a tray and strobe, but I would have to rig up some kind of diffuser and havce a slave strobe since there is no way to use on with the model housing I have.

What I have been looking at in the way of upgrades are:

Nikon Coolpix P5000 with an Ikelite housing and DS51 Substrobe
Sea & Sea DX-860G with YS-27DX strobe

The photographer at our local dive shop is recommending buying the Nikon D40X DSLR and getting the housing and lenses to go with. And while it looks great, I'm not sure if it's more camera than I need right now. I have a good eye for composition and such, but have had limited experience with SLR cameras.

We have a trip to St. Croix next month and a trip to Thailand in december, and I know the camera I have right now is not sufficient.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

thanks!