Moving to Maui for 9 months

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ken Winch

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi. I am a travel nurse and will be in Maui from December to most likely August I would love to find a dive buddy that lives in Maui and any ideas on a good shop to work my divemaster and instructor certifications. I will be working 3 nights a week so I will have lots of play time.

Go talk to the folks at B&B and Maui Dreams about DM and IDC. You absolutely won't go wrong with either one of them! Congrats on your move to Maui!

Thanks for the info. So I know from the dive shop I hooked up with in az when I was working on my advanced and rescue. I could go dive with them whenever they were out at the lake and just paid for tanks. That common in Maui as well or will I have to pay the money they advertise for dives.

Ask about Kama'aina rates (locals) if you have a Maui address on something. I think Maui Dive Shop offers 20% off on rentals - not much but it helps. They also sell fill cards.

Unfortunately I think that'll be something you'll have to ask. I have a couple of local friends who while doing their DM were diving from the boat for free, but those are long time locals who had personal relationships with the owner and crew prior to their DM work. It was all "space available" at the last minute if the boat wasn't full, but still no cost.