Monterey Express: 11/16 review

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rkuris

New
Reaction score
I took the Monterey Express today with a buddy. This is my first time on this boat, so I thought I'd share a review.

I was thrilled with the conditions and not so thrilled with the boat. I wrote ahead and asked for nitrox. When I got there, Captain Tim just said "oh looks like they forgot". Fortunately, I had a spare bottle in my car and was able to make one dive on nitrox. The other I had to use air. Not exactly a great start.

Conditions were really good. We probably had 50 foot horizontal and maybe 80 foot vertical on our first dive, fairly close to Monestary Beach and Mono Lobo. The site briefing was excellent (where to go, where not to go, what to expect, etc). There were a lot of fish. We saw thousands of anchovies, a few crabs, some jellyfish, and generally had a damn good dive, down to about 75 feet.

The snacks before and between dives were primarily cake and muffins, along with a little fruit.

For the second dive, Captain Tim searched well. He observed that one of the sites he was going to pick was too thick with kelp and didn't look like it had enough vis. So, he hunted some more. This was probably the best thing I can say about Monterey Express: they work hard to find good dive spots.