Macro & wreck interiors

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Halthron

Contributor
Reaction score
At the moment, I have a Canon a620 with the WP-DC90 housing. I have been using the internal flash for macro and no-flash for pretty much everything else. I'm still fairly new to taking good pictures and feel that I have yet to outgrow the ability of my current camera. While I will probably move to a DSLR at some point, that point has not yet arrived.

I've played around as much as possible between the manual options and my 21w HID and have to face facts that any chance of decent interior wreck shots will require one or more strobes.

I've looked at some of the strobe descriptions and the comparision chart at digitaldiver but much of the data is over my head. While being able to grow with my photography is a concern, cost is as well. I expect that if/when I do make the move, my camera setup will be passed to the next generation.

What kind of strobe can be used to light up an object in a dark silty room 4-8 feet away? The cost-concious side of me says to lean toward the Ike DS51, despite its long recycle time while the side that's more likely to try to shoehorn a smallblock 350 into a Chevette says to splurge on the DS200 or the Inon Z-240.

Realistically, what're good strobes once you get outside of macro range and for lighting up dark spaces yet still be used for macro?

Inon Z240 or Sea & Sea YS 110 - they will both last you well into your DSLR photography as well.