Lost and DM nowhere to be found

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

citykid

Contributor
Reaction score
This happened a while ago. A week's worth of diving and OW checkout was the vacation. Two or three days after passing the checkout and no problems there I am happy to say, we went out on the boat in Nassau, New Providence, with a different DM, we did not know him. But he came recommended, seemed on the ball, and what did I know anyway, I was a newbie. Anyway, the captain drops anchor and the DM gives the speech. We all are to meet up, us, DM & four other divers, then swim to the wall, blah blah blah. My buddy who's also my gal and I are first to go in the drink. DM tells us to go in, swim to the bow line and wait for everyone else. Then begin our nice little dive.
Well, I go in and await at the bow line. My buddy comes along also. BUT NO ONE ELSE! I wait a while longer and no one.

This story is getting a little long so I'm gonna cut to the chase a bit.

We go looking for the group. We got lost. Newbies lost in the open ocean first week diving. Was I scared? No. I was furious that we were left alone. Maybe it was me being a firefighter that taught me not panic. Maybe it was us taking the training seriously, who knows. But we did take readings on our compass' before and during the dive. We found the wall they went to but not them. We found the wreck that was on the agenda, quite a ways away from the wall and dive boat, and then finally found them. I was very happy with myself for:
a) not panicking