Lens choice?? WA vs. zoom?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RLXFXR

Reaction score
I apologize in advance if this subject has been covered in the past, but I'm new to this...

I'm going to purchase the Ikelite housing for my Canon Rebel XT and am unsure about what lens to get. I was using an Olympus point n' shoot digital and enjoyed being able to zoom in and out. I don't think at this point that I'd be interested in macro. Now I'm reading in various posts either shooting wide angle or macro?

What about using the standard 18-55mm zoom lens with a flat port? Would I be disappointed with this setup? Would it be better to go with a 10-22 WA lens and the specific 6" dome port? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Happy diving.

It totally depends on what type of shots you like.

You might like to start with the 18-55 and see what you like and what you feel is missing. Then add that later.

I can't imagine not shooting macro, myself, so went with two different macro lenses. I also picked up the Sigma 10-20 WA. I have a love/hate with WA so don't use it much yet :wink:

There is no dSLR lens that will cover wide angle as well as macro so you pretty much will have to choose what you want to do during that particular dive. Basically the medium range zoom such as 18-55 does not really focus close enough for it to be considered a macro lens. I am not all that familiar with Canon line of lens but the closest medium range lens that can almost do macro is the Nikkor 17-55mm which can focus down to 14 inches.