Knoxville Tennessee Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SharpDog

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
I gather that most of the diving in this area is in the quarries and maybe Norris lake. What about diving in Melton Hill Lake or Loudon?

I am very new to diving but I am looking for some local trips next summer.

Pete

You are correct. Most people will dive the quarries. The two most popular are Philadelphia Quarry and Loch Low Minn. Philadephia is less expensive ($10 per day per diver), but with fewer frills. Loch Low Minn is $20 per day per diver, but they have an office on site with some rental equipment and also do air fills.

Norris used to be a popular location, but I've heard the viz had dropped dramatically in recent years due to increased boat traffic and run off from all the new development.

I've also read several threads from people that dive in Cherokee and Chilhowee. By searching threads, you should be able to find the discussions.

Ken

VIZ in Fort Loudon Lake runs at 3 ft at the most and the boat traffic is extremely dangerous (these folks have NO idea what a dive flag is).

Most of the area lakes have tremendous algal blooms during the summer - so VIZ is terrible. Some folks do "muck" diving around the popular swimming holes and find some coins and jewelry - but it is all done by touch.

Even the VIZ in the quarries suffers in late summer - but at least you can see other divers coming at you before the collisions .... lol