Isla Mujeres: Worth the trip?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Guitarcrazy

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
My wife and I have been diving for a couple of years, and have done 6 trips to Cozumel, 1 to Roatan, 1 to Puerto Vallarta, and a bit in California. We are thinking of taking a short trip to Isla Mujeres in September, in hopes of seeing the end of the whale shark migration. I know they only let you snorkel with them, and it is a very long boat ride. That being said, is the rest of the diving around the island worth the trip? Would we be wishing we were in Cozumel instead? Thanks.

. . . That being said, is the rest of the diving around the island worth the trip? Would we be wishing we were in Cozumel instead?

Not really. Yes. Combine Isla Mujeres with Cozumel if you want good diving AND a whale shark outing.

I've only been to Isla Mujeres twice, and have made multiple trips to Cozumel. I wouldn't go to Isla Mujeres just to dive, but still found it worth doing a couple of days diving both times. Since I knew the diving wouldn't compare to Cozumel, my expectations were not the same and I enjoyed the dives. As much as I like Isla Mujeres, I agree that going to Cozumel if you want good diving is a better choice.

We really want to see whale sharks, and it seems Isla Mujeres is the easiest way to do so. Just wondering if we should do 3 days in Isla, and then head to Cozumel, or just plan on more relaxing and not necessarily diving on Isla Mujeres. Is there anything else to do in Isla Mujeres?