Is RAW worth it?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

chugmeister

Contributor
Reaction score
I apologize as this may be a seemingly simple question but I am new to all of this so bare with me.

Is it really worth it to shoot in RAW format? Can you really do that much with it? I am using a Sony F828 and in the RAW format each picture is like 16Mb or something like that. It also takes several more seconds to store the pics even to fast storage.

I haven't seen much discussion of Sony in the RAW format discussions. Is anyone edititing Sony RAW format and if so what software are you using?

Thanks for helping a novice.

From what I understand the main advantage to shooting RAW is when you go to photoshop to do the work there is a lot more information to the file than in a lower resolution format.

My camera, the Sea & Sea DX5000G, doesn't shoot RAW files, the best I can do is a TIFF, but I've still been only shooting at the "fine 2592" setting 2592 X 1944, I'm not an expert with photoshop, but I've been able to get pretty good results with the experience I have with the software.

I guess it's a matter of how much storage capacity you have while shooting and when you get ready to archive your files. I've been using a 512MB memory card and could get approx. 50 shots/ card shooting TIFF as opposed to 230+ shooting F2592.

I know there are a lot more folks here more experienced with the digital than I am so hopefully some of them will weigh in for you.

Have fun in Coz!!!!!

Worth what?