Intermediate Pressure Gauge

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

traveler218

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm looking for an intermediate Pressure gauge so that I can check/tune my reg. I'm fairly new to this so not sure what's important here. the prices seem to range from $14 on Amazon, to over $80 elsewhere. Now I am very familiar with the old adage "you get what you pay for", but I also know it's easy to pay for a lot more than what you new (or pay a much higher price for no more benefit).

Anyone have any insight or recommendations as to what is adequate here?

I had bought one of the small gauges, and found it to be accurate, but the resolution was low. So I upgraded to a larger unit. In the link below it is the $28 unit.
IP Gauge Checkers

When rebuilding regs, I have a really nice IP gauge on my reg testing stand.

I have the scubatools one that plugs into a LP inflator hose, not the bench model. It's fine, if I really needed to know the exact IP of all my 1st stages I'd get a better one, and an inline adapter so I could mount it immediately before the 2nd stage junction, not on the LP inflator hose. I believe taking a reading on the inflator hose might reveal different pressure drop during purge than actually occurs at the 2nd stage due to venturi influence in the LP port chamber.

Anyhow, unless you're a real nerd and care about the stuff I just blabbed about, this one is good:
Tech Diver IP Gauge - Universal Inflator