Interest in research diving, advice?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
Hi, new to diving!
And I mean /really/ new, barely started my PADI training. Excited!

Brief introduction:
I am a mechanical/manufacturing engineer and I absolutely hate the 8-5 (it's not 9-5 anymore guh!) desk jockey, pencil-pushing, stay-overtime-because-your-manager-hasn't-left-yet kind of job. It's a manufacturing firm, the customer's money is all that matters in this industry, which is understandable. I just don't see myself as a sane person in this position any longer.

So I looked to the skies.
Yes...the skies.
I read an article that explained why I have these, once inactive, feelings.
In case you're interested, here is the article:
https://www.mentalhelp.net/articles/what-do-you-do-when-you-don-t-know-what-to-do/
Before you ask, no I don't/didn't need mental help. I googled "what to do when I don't know what to do" Ha.

Anyway, I've decided to shoot for the stars!
Literally!
My dream is to become an astronaut!
And yes, this is the right place for me to be. Hahaha.
My first step is to make a career out of ocean engineering and become an aquanaut.

My plan so far is to dive as much as I can before attending an AAUS school.
Then attend a uni for ocean engineering/scuba.
Any advice??
How does one get a handful of logged dives in a short period of time?
I feel late in the game (I'm 27) and I want to make up for lost time.