IKELITE Housing Setup

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wheezy

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Looking for some input. I'm just getting started with research in regards to a housing. I've been a photographer for about 6 years, and have been diving almost 4 years now. I'm ready to combine two of my passions and begin my journey into underwater photography.

I own a Nikon D2x and a D70. I make my living with the D2x and the thought of having it flood is just unbearable. So I have decided NOT to get a housing for that camera. Instead I will be purchasing a housing for the D70, which wouldn't cause quite the strain on my life if it were to have an "accident".

OK, so I'm looking at Ikelite, because it's cheap. What all do I need to get started. The housing is obvious, I'm assuming some sort of "dome" or "port" (could use a little expalination on this stuff????) Strobe? Strobe mounting? "Lens Gears???"

What do you guys think? ANY and ALL advice is welcome as to the proper path to take. I've already ruled out a little Point and Shoot setup (I was considering an Olympus 5050 or the like), I wouldn't know what to do with one of those anyway.

I REALLY like the fact that I can use iTTL with the NEW Ikelite housing. Any input in regards to that?

Thank you very much for any help and or advice you can offer, it is appreciated.

Best Regards,
Wheezy Todd

wheezy: