I am a new diver and have few questions about underwater photography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hummari

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to diving and underwater photography. I have few questions that I hope you all can answer.
First, I got camera that I have not used for a long time, Nikon Coolpix 8800 and I wanted to know if this camera is something that I can use for underwater photography or should I buy me a new camera.

Second if this camera is ok for underwater photography, which of the following housing are best for it. There couple that are available for this camera as you can see.

List of underwater housings that turn the Nikon Coolpix 8800 into an underwater camera

Third, what else do I need to start underwater photography? Do I need strobes or other equipment?

Welcome to the board.