How to meet like minded divers whilst travelling solo in Australia?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi everybody,

I'm new to all of this but am heading out to Australia in early December for a couple of months and would really like to meet some other solo travellers to add to the fun of the diving. I'm 22 and a recent graduate from the UK, travelling for a while before I start work and am worried that when I look at all of the dive groups/ holidays it seems like they are mainly aimed at highly experienced divers or couples. Being young and single, whilst I am keen to spend a good amount of time diving while I am over there, it would also be great to find like minded individuals to help enhance the social side for me.

If anybody has any advice for how I might be able to find a group of such individuals to dive with or if you are in a similar situation it would be great to hear from the community here. Also I know saying Australia is very vague but I haven't yet booked or decided on any exact destination, if anyone sees this post and knows of some not to be missed dive locations or dive schools that would be great help too!

Thanks in advance,

Michael