Help With Making DIY Dive LIght

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cool project. I've got lots of questions about it though. My background - I've got a lot of experience designing and building all sorts of electronic systems including LED drivers and such. I know this is a bit late but hopefully some of you are still reading.

• heat production/management is a big issue for high power LEDs. In an enclosed space this could be an issue. Certainly an aluminum housing would help a lot though it's all about the thermal efficiency of the "heat sink". In a PVC housing, I wonder what the heat production limits would be. PVC has really crappy thermal efficiency so there is clearly some limit on how much power you can produce but PVC is very compelling from a cost perspective.
  • Color temperature. What is the best temperature? I see 5700K bandied about . Since ambient red disappears at interesting depths, wouldn't one want something a lot lower to correct for lack of ambient red? At least for photography. Well, closer photography - 5-10' or so? I definitely need to learn more about this.