help my fear...need advice/info please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

achenry

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to diving but love taking pictures. After some research I just purchased a Casio EX-Z55 digital point and shoot camera and it's partnered underwater housing. I would love any tips or information you are willing to share about being sure my new camera doesn't get ruined. Any information out there on how often these housings fail and why? I've heard even the tiniest hair or grain of sand can cause a leak! Anything you have to offer would be really great! I'm off to caye caulker in belize at the end of february and am looking forward to getting some great underwater photos...but am also terrified at ruining my new ( and fairly expensive) camera!
Thanks a bunch,
achenry

Get some blue shop towels. Put them inside of the housing without the camera. Close it up and toss it in the bathtub. Work all of the buttons and knobs on the housing and then leave it in the bathtub overnight. The blue shop towels really show up moisture, and if you have any kind of leak, you'll know it. (Unless it's a pinhole leak that doesn't show up until the housing is at 80-100')

your o-ring is going to be the key to keeping the camera safe.

keep the o-ring clean and lubed per manufacturer's instructions.

before a dive, put the camera in a rinse bucket (don't put it in with
the masks -- defoger ruins o-rings) and make sure it's not "bubbling"
(i.e. leaking)