Hello from central Mo

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Michael Gtr

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey,

A little about me. I'm From Missouri. I'm now a chemist but while I was in college I worked as a sushi chef. I'm still really new to scuba as well.

My gf and I recently got certified and are planning on diving in Florida in mid Oct. Both of us are into science and the environment so we'd like to spearfish a massive amount of lion-fish while we're out there diving!!! Maybe volunteer with some sort of charity for a reef cleaning, or help a marine biologist with something dive related.

I'd love to hear any suggestions the members have for diving and spear fishing in Florida!!

Thank you,
Michael

Welcome. Haven't spearfished. If you do, be mindful you may draw attention, such as from sharks & moray eels, especially if you swim around with one on your spear. Saw a couple of reef sharks make life interesting for someone hauling one around on a spear in Belize. Alert Diver, DAN's magazine, has an article you can see online called A Shark Tale, where someone got bitten. I'm not saying that's at all common, but looks like you're still pretty new to diving, and spearfishing might bring some complications you haven't run into yet. I used to be more eager to 'zap' lion fish than I am now. I've read too many accounts of people who'd know what they're doing way more than me getting nailed by the little buggers, and some get serious wound complications.