Question GUE Fundies - Drysuit or Wetsuit?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
TDI ER tech diver here looking to get GUE Fundies tech pass. I’d like to know if it’s easier to accomplish this goal using a wetsuit or drysuit, with the goal of choosing the harder option so I can more easily translate the skills I learned to the easier exposure option. I’m especially interested in tech divers providing this feedback. One thing to note: I am not very experienced in drysuit diving (I do own my own custom drysuit) since I usually dive without a suit or 3mm if cavern diving.

On the one hand, because a drysuit is more complex than a wetsuit, plus the fact that I’m not very experienced with it, it might make sense to train with that. However on the other hand I’ve read that drysuit diving makes staying in trim much easier, therefore in this case a wetsuit/no-suit might be a better option.

Thoughts?

TDI ER tech diver here looking to get GUE Fundies tech pass. I’d like to know if it’s easier to accomplish this goal using a wetsuit or drysuit, with the goal of choosing the harder option so I can more easily translate the skills I learned to the easier exposure option. I’m especially interested in tech divers providing this feedback. One thing to note: I am not very experienced in drysuit diving (I do own my own custom drysuit) since I usually dive without a suit or 3mm if cavern diving.