Getting certified-Ascent Incident on 1st Ocean Dive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MarissaI

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi, I am brand new to diving. I went through the Naui course training, completed my test, dove in a pool about 4 times, a quarry 2 times, and then it was time for my ocean dive. At the bottom (at about 20ft) I was in the middle of blasting my regulator when my mouth flooded with water. I swallowed water, panicked and surfaced. My instructor was holding me down so I didn't surface as fast.. all the while I was swallowing water. I dont know extactly how fast i got to the surface from 20 feet.. prob less than a min. :((so embarrassing) when i got to the surface I had a headache. The past 4 days I have had a lingering headache at my temples.. my left one to be exact. The morning it is always at its worst. I go this weekend to redo the dive again.. I am just worried about my head. Why I am feeling the lingering headache? My symptoms don't exactly correlate with sicknesses i have read in my text book. Please share your thoughts. Thank you. -M