Full Foot vs. Open Heel

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

asp9208

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I've noticed many people recommend open heel fins for scuba diving and I just wondered why? I am a newbie and have only worn full foot fins but I will be purchasing some personal gear soon (fins, snorkel etc..) and wanted some opinions. They will be used in south florida and eventualy in north florida, the springs, and also some snorkeling. I'm not really asking about brands I just want to know full vs. open heel and maybe some info on split fins.

I think the open heel is more versatile for many divers. Open heel can be for both warm and cold water diving.

Also, open heel are much easier to use if you go shore diving (walk into the surf with boots, then donning fins) and on boat dives. Technically, I suppose you could do the same with full foot, but I'd rather not walk around barefoot on boats or entering surf; I like my toes and feet!

dlndavid:
I think the open heel is more versatile for many divers. Open heel can be for both warm and cold water diving.

It allows divers to switch boots (that suits the type of diving he/she is doing) and not having to switch fins...........(though some might find it not possible for fins like SP JETs).

Some also appreciates open heel's effectiveness underwater over fullfoot. Someone might help justify this statement or disagree with it for me since the only time I dove with a fullfoot was during my openwater certify dives.