DIR- GUE Florida Cave 2 course report

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Buritaani

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
GUE Course reports - a great way to spend time, especially in the midst of a dry spell! Partially motivated by somewhat unusual course circumstances, I present to you a write-up of my first foray into Florida cave diving in the form of a Cave 2 course in July of 2018.

As a bit of background, I've been diving for 10 years and dabbled in GUE since 2012, when I attended a demo day after reading a lot about GUE and DIR online. I took fundies in 2013, upgraded to a tech pass in 2014, and went on to take Cave 1 in Mexico, followed by a week and a half of experience dives. By this time, we had a healthy and sizable GUE community where I was living. As I hail from Finland, where we no natural underwater caves, the environment where I was to apply my skills was cold, flooded mineshafts, often located under frozen ice at the bottom of quarries. Sometimes we also visit Sweden - also to dive flooded mineshafts. Due to family commitments, I cut back on my in-water hours and took a break from cave diving, but attempted to keep the skillset up to date with open water practice. Early in 2018 I decided I wanted to get back in the saddle and resumed diving the Ojamo mine, which offers at the C1 level a few different passages, all at the 28 metre level.