Fins: Deep6 Eddy v OMS Slipstream

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

S'S

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi there, I need advice on what fins to get. I've read a number of post on comparisons, reviews, etc on Scubaboard but I could not find one perfectly fits my situation.

I’m a newbie diver with less than 50 logged dives. I currently use an aluminum BP/W (single tank), 3mm wetsuit, 3mm booties, 2x1kg lead (I think it’s equivalent to 2x2.2lbs), and a Mares Avanti Quattro+ (size regular). I mostly dive in tropical waters (Southeast Asia) where the water temperature ranges from 22-28 degrees Celsius (I don’t really need the 3mm wetsuit but I prefer to stay comfy and warm). I have never seen anyone dive with a drysuit around here but maybe that's because I'm still new and don't know any technical divers?

I intend to take GUE Fundies (sometime next year) and eventually go into tech (not anytime soon, perhaps in 3-4 years time). I’ve been made to understand that the Quattro+ are alright for singles and sidemounts but not suitable for backmount doubles.

After some thought, I’ve decided that I will sell my Quattro+ and find fins that are future proof in line with my plans. I’ve narrowed down to OMS Slipstream and Deep6 Eddy. You are more than welcome to suggest me any other fins apart from DiveRite XT (I can’t find any supplier for the XTs in my country. Shipping from another country is not really a viable option for me right now – my bank account will veto against it).