Eastern TN Diving Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

utdivermatt

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hey everyone,
I am a student at UT, and have yet to really dive since Ive been here, but I am trying to finally buy some gear so I will be able to dive anywhere and anytime I want to. I was hoping some people who dive throughout the Winter in my general area (maybe as far as middle TN/ N. Alabama/ W. Georgia / Eastern Kentucky). Where is there to dive around here? I know about a couple of quarries around the Knoxville area, including one that I am getting my AOW from in April, when it warms up enough for the instructors. How cold does the water get around the area (supposing some places are open year-round). I ask this because in my AOW I am still thinking of which specialties to focus on. I know there is a drysuit, but I dont know if I would use it enough to warrent the class. I dont know much about how I do in cold water (all but one of my dives has been in tropical paradises), so was looking for general advice about temperatures in the area and what everyone wears when diving. Thanks for the help!

There are some lakes up there that I have heard of people diving in. Does UT have a scuba club? If so then join. I was in the Tigersharks while at Auburn. We did several dives a year. Of course we were about 3-4 hours from Panama City. They will probably go someplace nice for spring break. When I dove Blackbeard's thre were dive clubs from UK, Va Tech and West Virginia.