DRY SUIT COURSE

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DepthCharge

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Not sure if this is the correct forum or not but here goes. I've read in multiple posts about taking "Drysuit
Courses". Just a bit of history......I've been diving drysuits for 20+ years. Dove them in the Great Lakes, North Atlantic, Scotland. Never had an incident that I couldn't deal with. When I bought my first drysuit, the owner spent probably 45min-1hour going over the suit and how to deal with issues. He then went on a dive with me, and we went thru some drills. So all told about 2 hrs. There was no additional charge for this. Now remember 20+ years, no major issue.
So what does a "course" teach you and how much does it cost? Just curious.
Later,
John

My drysuit course probably taught pretty much what your dealer taught you. I have heard it is not uncommon for a dealer to offer a "free drysuit course" with purchase of a drysuit.

I don't recall what my course cost, but since it was a GUE course, I am sure most would say "too much."

Probably very similar to what you experienced 20+ years ago, just in a bit more formal format to sell.

Some background on suits, construction, maintenance, etc. As well as how to deal with issues and preventative measures.

Then it's a few dives to get used to the suit and make sure that you are good to go.

As for cost? Couldn't tell you, but I'd say usual instructor and administration fees and a weekend of your time.

_R