Do you guys think this is a good deal?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
First off I am a scuba newb....so I need advice on what type of regulator to get. I have my eyes on the scubapro s600 but it is a bit expensive and recently I have gotten the opportunity to buy the following items: First stage aqualung costeau, 2nd stage Aqualung micradjustable, genesis octo, and a genesis console with resource nitrox computer for $400 shipped. Recently serviced. Do you guys think that is a good deal for a beginner or do you think that I should invest the money in a new reg s600 and spend a whole bunch more to get new stuff? Any help would be welcome.

personally, i think that for recreational diving, a regulator is a regulator, unless
it's not made by one of the reputable makers. both Scubapro and Aqualung/US Divers
are reputable makers.

if you can get into the package you are talking about for $400 and get out there
and dive, then i say do it.

that sounds like a good deal to me. the genesis resource is worth about $250 by
itself.

the only drawback i see is that the resource is not nitrox-compatible (as far as
i can tell) so if you ever go into diving nitrox, you will need to buy another
computer. do you know if this is the resource or the resource nitrox?

Go to your dive shop, test drive the units they have and buy from them. They'll take care of you.