DIY 35mm Camera Housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

reghers

New
Reaction score
Hi, I am trying to build a housing for a 35mm autofocus camera. Wondering if anyone can give me some pointers on how to build the controls, that will have to pass through the housing. Thanks

I've been lurking on the DIY forum for a while, since I find the challenge of building it myself satisfying...whatever the subject.

I have been a stereo photographer for some years. I've found a few UW stereo photos on the web, and those folks are way out of my league. Talent and equipment wise.

I am interested in rigging a housing for my point and shoot Nimslo. An inexpensive starting point for a rig of modest price, and I fear, performance.

Has anybody rigged a UW housing using a large bore PVC plumbing tee? Am I trying to reinvent a bad wheel? From the depth of experience on this forum, I would expect some good ideas to surface.

KYDan

There was a guy in Hawaii selling some camera housings. They were basically what you would want to do for a DIY. Basically you make a box with one side open out of plexiglass or some kind of see through plastic. (His also had ridges on the outside to reduce the chance that you would scratch it)
The lid (on the side) was just plastic with a tight o-ring that clamped down into the case. For controls he just had one rotating thing (not sure how it was made) and on the bar there was an adjustable lever that came down to hit the shoot button.