Diving Similan in May

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sara_lee86

Registered
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to this dive board and just need some advice for a trip I have booked to Thailand May 2006.

First off, I will be arriving to Phuket on Tuesday,
May 9th 2006 and am planning a live-aboard trip to the
Similan Island. My partner [David] and I are both
divers so we are anticipating this moment. We have
never gone diving in Asia and hear Similan is the best
so this will really make or break our trip! I have
herd May to be the beginning of Rainy season [my heart
sank a little!!] and I hope the dive condition wont'
deteoriate too much. I see that most dive operations
stop going to the Similan in May although some still
do. Can you give me an honest opinion on the dive
conditions in May - should we choose to go on a
live-aboard on the 2nd week of May or is it not worth
our time due to bad weather? I am very curious as to
how much change in dive condition is between April and
early / mid May? Currently I am planning to use
Andaman Scuba for their 4 days / 5 nights live-aboard
to Similan / Richelieu departing at 10pm on Tuesday
May 9th, 2006. The cost is $610 per person plus 15$
per day for dive equipment.
http://www.andamanscuba.com/prices-similan.htm.

I know that Phuket has year-round diving to local areas
but I really have my heart set on diving the Similan.
Any information you can give will be much appreciated.

Thank you.