Dive Rite Travel-Pac + HOG D1 or BP2 first stage/regs good starting gear?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

deskdiver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Anyone care to suggest first time gear and comment on my potential choices and logic?

There is such an abundance of hard to compare equipment and brands in the scuba it's really hard to choose. I'm a noob and dive warm water in generally clear/resort conditions. I would like to purchase some equipment where I could just rent the bottles locally. My theory is to try to identify the value band where the equipment will be able to keep up and keep safe.

After researching it seems that BP/W setups are favoured by the tech community so I figure if it's good enough for them it's good enough for me and while overkill for recreational diving that I will be doing it'd be nice to know I'm learning it "right" should I ever want to advance.

I was thinking of purchasing a Dive Rite travel-pac. My logic is that it's cheaper than the full XT and will be similar to BP/W setups. The alternative would be spend another $200 and get a Dive Rite Transpac XT .. though I'm not sure I'd get the value out of it as a beginner.

Can anyone comment on my BCD logic here? Or even offer alternatives?