Digital Catastrophe

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

louisianadiver

Contributor
Reaction score
Yesterday, I pushed the "on" button of the computer I've been using for the past 4 years and nothing good happened. After fumbling around with a variety of recover discs and strategies, I brought the machine to someone who actually seems to understand the things. The diagnosis: failed hard drive. The cause: these things just happen. So, about 30 gigs of images have vanished into cyber oblivion. I hope to recover the files, and many of them are backed up on external hard drives or CDs. In any event, I am greatly comforted by the knowledge that every original image is safely stored in a slide sheet and filed in a binder. It would certainly take some time and money to re-scan the lost images, but that's far better than losing 30 years' worth of photos. Here's the bottom line: If you're shooting digital your storage system WILL eventually fail. Your backup storage system will likewise eventually fail. Be ready, be diligent, and re-backup your files on a regular basis. As for me, I'm sticking with film. -Clay

Have you checked with a computer guru to see if it possible to recover the data from the hard drive. In many instances that is possible for a fee for "data recovery".

Gilligan:
Have you checked with a computer guru to see if it possible to recover the data from the hard drive. In many instances that is possible for a fee for "data recovery".