Digital Camera and Housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ppo2_diver

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
So I've been thinking about getting a digital camera for taking some UW pictures. Nothing fancy. I'm not very good at photography. I'm looking for a cheap camera and housing options. I know, "Cheap, yeah right." But I want something very simple that takes better pictures than the stills I pull off video. I'm looking for something that I can set the white balance to reduce the green color water we dive in. Any opinions? I'm looking at cameras from Best Buy and Ike housings so far. Thanks.

How deep are you wanting to take it?

Canon makes housings for most of their cameras that are good for recreational depths. If you go for a camera that is about (or just is) discontinued, you could get away with getting a very inexpensive setup.

I started out with a Canon P&S with a Canon housing and loved it. As Jeff said, if you look for one that is just about to or is discontinued, you should get a good deal. It also helps if you are open to used and slighly lower megapixels. I just got rid of my Canon PowerShor S50 (5.0mp) with Canon housing (it had over 200+ dives on it and never had a problem of any sort) and would have sold it for about $100 for everything (I wound up giving it away to a friend). Check ebay and watch here but if you are open, there are good deals out there.