Did I make the wrong choice?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Skittl1321

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
The op I dove with last time was not available for this year's trip, so I chose to dive with Tres Pelicanos. When I booked with them, I told them I was a beginner and that I do not dive below 75 feet; they said no problem.

Now, I'm seeing TP being recommended as "awesome for advanced divers".

Now, I am definitely a beginner with about 30 dives, 11 in Cozumel- but I don't need my hand held; I can descend no problem, manage my buoyancy so I'm not crashing into the reef, handle medium/light drifts, hold my safety stop, watch/listen for boats as I surface next to a SMB (working on learning to shoot one myself- right now mine is not on a line). I don't need my hand held, but I'm nervous enough that I like to at least be able to see where the DM is. However, due to medical reasons, the 75 feet thing is pretty mandatory. I don't think I'll die instantly at 76 feet, but getting to 85+ feet could be a lot more risk than I want to take. If the DM is going through swim throughs at 100 feet and I can't see him; or the currents are very different on the different levels, I've got a problem. I also don't want to fight people on the boat that I can't go to Devil's Throat, for instance (and regardless of depth, I've got no business there.)