descent digital camera for a newbie

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gajeep94yj

Contributor
Reaction score
I have been diving for over 7 yrs now and never really got into photographing what I was seeing underwater. I have a fuji s7000 that I have been using for a while. while I do enjoy all the features and the photo quality I don't like the size. plus I can't take it diving with me so I am in the market for a new camera for diving.

I am looking for a descent digital camera that I can get an underwater case for. I would like it to have at a very minimum 4.0 megapixel. I would like it so that when I don't use the case I can use it top side. I would also like the case so I can put an external strobe on it so I can get some better pics.

it would also be really nice if the camera was one of those dust and moisture proof cameras as well. I saw another diver who had one of those and he mentioned how great it was b/c he could just throw it in his pocket when he was outdoors and didn't have to worry about the dust or the sand affecting it. I spend alot of time outdoors and in the woods so that would be a big plus for me as well.

I know I am likely to get tons of opinions but that is fine, I would just like to know what other prefer or atleast get a starting point so I know where to start looking.

thanks alot for the adivce. I am heading to Cozumel over labor day so that is when I need to get it by.

Seth