Corrective mask vs gauge readers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

reefrat

Contributor
Reaction score
At 57 years of age I have been using reading glasses for the last 10 years but otherwise my vision (beyond 3 feet) is still reasonably good and I use +1.5 off-the-shelf for most computer use or book reading.
When diving I have found that my gauges, camera monitor and even the reef close up are all a bit fuzzy, but I just sort of got used to squinting at things and accepting that things don’t look sharp!
To remedy this I have tried various types of gauge reader lens and masks, most on the market in fact and never really got a satisfactory solution- gauges and handsets are still a PITA to see really clearly.
So, recently I wondered if maybe I should go for a mask with a full corrective lens instead of a gauge reader. After playing around with several strength glasse lenses in my mask I purchased (at the very reasonable price of around $60) a Deep Sea Clarity mask with +1.00 lenses.
Wow.....I cannot believe how clear everything looks under the water now! The +1.00 strength is a compromise that allows me to see my gauges/ handset clearly and also works great out to a range of about 40 feet, beyond which everything starts to slightly and gradually go mount of focus. As it turns out this is not an issue underwater- even when the viz is 100 ft.
So if your struggling with gauge readers and have typical boomer vision like I do consider a full corrective lens mask in the +1.00 or +1.50 range and see what happens.