Complacency and the need to be on guard

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Capt. Morgan

Reaction score
I believe this is the proper forum to get the best feedback from some seasoned vets.

A couple of weeks ago when I was taking my second trip to Costa Rica for some diving I met a pilot for a regional jet airline getting dinner like I was late night at the hotel bar before the early morning flight out.

We started talking because I am a new private pilot. And, he was telling me that most of the bad case scenarios occur with a pilot between 200-500 hours. And, I have read a couple of posts by a member (that I' can't think of right now, and too lazy to go look for) that has a signature to the effect of that at 50 dives he/she "thought" he/she knew all about diving and now with over a 100 dives he/she realizes how wrong he/she was thinking that at 50 dives.

Since, I fall into the 50-100 dive category I was wondering if there is a consensus about the most dangerous time for divers to get arrogant/complacent about diving like the pilot said pilots do between 200-500 hours.

The pilot I was talking to also expressed that the 200-500 range is where one does a lot of invaluable learning of having "stuff" happen that one has read about and trained for but one has to do it for real by one's self to really become a better pilot. I excpect the same is true for scuba.